HB 795: SEPA Reform

The Votes

Voting For:

SENATE: Tom Apodaca (R), Warren Daniel (R), Jim Davis (R), Ralph Hise (R), Dan Soucek (R)

HOUSE: Hugh Blackwell (R), Josh Dobson (R), Mike Hagar (R), Jonathan Jordan (R), Michele Presnell (R), Roger West (R), Chris Whitmire (R)

Voting Against:

SENATE: Terry Van Duyn (D)

HOUSE: John Ager (D), Susan Fisher (D), Brian Turner (D), Chuck McGrady (R)

Not Voting:

HOUSE: Joe Sam Queen (D) excused absence

Summary: HB 795 limits  environmental  review under State Environmental Policy Act  (SEPA) to projects that:  1.  involve expenditures of $10 million or more in public funds;  or 2. affect 10 acres or more of public lands and result in permanent changes to the landscape.  The  new thresholds mean many public projects with potentially significant impacts will be exempt from SEPA review.  Click here for official bill history, bill text, and vote records.

Status: Introduced in the house on 04/14/15, referred to House committee on environment, referred to Senate committee on rules and operations, Re-ref Com On Senate Agriculture/Environment/Natural Resources, House Failed Concur In S Com Sub, House Conf Com Appointed, Senate Conf Com Appointed, 06/08/2015  Ratified signed by the Governor McCrory on 06/19/2015.

WNC Legislators sponsoring the bill: 

  • Primary: Mike Hagar (R)